CKBD logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CKBD Certification?

TL;DR
  • CKBD here means Certified Kitchen and Bath Designer, a credential from the National Kitchen & Bath Association (NKBA).
  • Earning it requires passing both a Fundamentals Exam and a separately juried Portfolio Exam within one year.
  • The $950 U.S. bundle requires current NKBA membership; no non-member exam tier is published.
  • Fundamentals tests the NKBA Kitchen & Bath Planning Guidelines (fifth edition) through scenario-based application, not memorized trivia.

The Credential in Plain Terms

CKBD stands for Certified Kitchen and Bath Designer. It is a professional certification for designers who plan residential kitchens and bathrooms, and it is awarded by the National Kitchen & Bath Association. If you have seen the same four letters attached to other credentials in other industries, set those aside: everything on this page concerns the NKBA designation only.

What separates this credential from many others is that it is not purely a written test. A candidate must demonstrate two distinct things: that they understand and can apply the NKBA planning standards under exam conditions, and that they have actually designed a real kitchen and bath project to a professional presentation standard. Passing one without the other does not earn the title.

If you are looking for shorter definitional answers, our pages on what CKBD stands for and the meaning of CKBD cover the basics. This article goes further, into how the program is actually structured and what it asks of candidates.

Who Awards It and How the Program Is Built

The certifying body is the NKBA, and the CKBD program is run through NKBA's certification structure. The portfolio side relies on NKBA-certified portfolio jurors, meaning working, credentialed professionals review submitted projects. No external testing vendor has been identified for the program, so candidates should treat the NKBA certification pages as the authoritative source for scheduling and delivery details.

The two public issuer sources reviewed for this article, current as of September 30, 2026, are the NKBA certifications page and the NKBA planning guidelines page. Both are worth bookmarking, because program mechanics such as eligibility routes and fees have changed over time and are likely to change again.

Why the source matters: Older third-party summaries of design certifications often cite question counts, time limits and fee schedules that no longer apply. For this credential, the current Fundamentals question count, item format, timed duration and numerical passing cutoff are not publicly confirmed, so treat any specific figure you see elsewhere with suspicion.

The Two Required Parts: Fundamentals and Portfolio

The credential is built from two components, and both are mandatory.

ComponentWhat It MeasuresFormat Notes
Fundamentals ExamUnderstanding and application of the NKBA Kitchen & Bath Planning Guidelines in scenariosQuestion count, item format, scored/unscored split, time limit and cut score are unverified
Portfolio ExamYour own real kitchen and bath project, with you as designer of recordReviewed by NKBA-certified jurors against NKBA Graphic & Presentation Standards

You must pass both within one year. That one-year window is an administrative access limit, not an exam timer, and it shapes how you plan: a candidate who starts the portfolio late can run out of runway even if the Fundamentals Exam goes well.

The Fundamentals Exam

Fundamentals is the written, knowledge-based component. It tests whether you can take the NKBA planning guidelines and apply them to scenarios, which is a different skill from reciting numbers. Expect to reason about clearances, work-area relationships, safety, and accessibility in context. Details such as whether the exam is open-book, whether a calculator is permitted, whether it is adaptive, and what live-proctoring rules apply are not publicly verified, so confirm them directly with NKBA when you register. Our guide on how hard the CKBD exam is discusses difficulty in more depth, and the passing score page explains what is and is not known about scoring.

The Portfolio Exam

The Portfolio Exam is where this credential differs most from a typical multiple-choice certification. You submit a real project, one you designed as the designer of record, and it is juried. This is not a hypothetical exercise or a case study handed to you. It rewards candidates who have genuinely completed residential work and who can document it to a professional standard.

Who Can Sit for It

Eligibility is route-based. A candidate qualifies through one of these paths:

  1. Credential route: an NCIDQ or architect credential.
  2. Education plus experience route: 30 relevant academic credits plus 3 industry years, including 1 designer year.
  3. Industry route: 7 industry years including 3 designer years. This route is effective June 1, 2026.

Documentary evidence and references apply across the routes. In practice that means you should gather employment verification, project history and reference contacts before you pay for anything. For the full walk-through, see our CKBD requirements guide.

Check the clock on the industry route: The 7-year industry route took effect June 1, 2026. If you are counting years toward it, confirm with NKBA how experience is documented and which dates are credited before you plan around a specific eligibility date.

Fees, Membership, Retakes and Reactivation

The program is priced as a bundle, and the numbers below come directly from the current program facts.

ItemDetail
U.S. bundle$950
MembershipCurrent NKBA membership required; no non-member exam tier is published
Included retakesOne retake of each component is included
Later Fundamentals retake$195
Later Portfolio retake$295 to $395
Wait before first retakes14 days (Fundamentals) / 30 days (Portfolio); subsequent waits 30 days
Reactivation$450, grants six months, subject to the deadline and eligibility

Two points deserve emphasis. First, membership is a precondition, so your true first-year cost includes whatever NKBA membership costs you; that membership fee is a separate item not covered here. Second, the reactivation period is another administrative access window, not a testing clock. If your one-year completion window lapses, reactivation can restore access for six months, but only if you still meet the deadline and eligibility conditions. For the complete pricing picture, read the CKBD certification cost breakdown.

What the Fundamentals Exam Draws On

The Fundamentals Exam is built around the fifth-edition NKBA Kitchen & Bath Planning Guidelines. That edition is linked to the 2024 International Residential Code and CSA B652 Accessible Dwellings (2023), with comparison to the National Building Code of Canada. That tells you something practical: you need to be comfortable moving between U.S. and Canadian code contexts at the level the guidelines present them.

The issuer publishes a Topics Covered list for that reference with 24 headings. These are unweighted preparation topics, not official scored domains, and not an exhaustive blueprint. The largest scored domain has not been published. The list, in the issuer's order:

Layout and Circulation Topics

  • Domain 1: Egress & Passageways
  • Domain 2: Doorways & Hardware
  • Domain 3: Clear Floor Spaces
  • Domain 4: Primary Activity Centers
  • Domain 5: Secondary Activity Centers
  • Domain 6: Seating Areas for Dining

Fixtures, Equipment and Room-Specific Topics

  • Domain 7: Kitchen Fixtures & Fittings
  • Domain 8: Kitchen Equipment
  • Domain 9: Bathroom Fixture & Fittings
  • Domain 10: Laundry Equipment
  • Domain 11: Clothing Storage
  • Domain 12: Home Offices & Gyms
  • Domain 13: Outdoor Kitchens
  • Domain 14: Outdoor Baths

Interior Environment and Materials Topics

  • Domain 15: Cabinetry & Casework
  • Domain 16: Finishes & Materials
  • Domain 17: Functional Storage
  • Domain 18: Indoor Air Quality

Building Systems, Compliance and Design Philosophy Topics

  • Domain 19: Electrical Planning
  • Domain 20: Lighting Planning
  • Domain 21: Systems Coordination
  • Domain 22: Code Compliance
  • Domain 23: Universal Design
  • Domain 24: Sustainable Design

The public description of the fifth-edition reference adds useful texture about what sits inside these headings. Accessibility coverage includes planning with wheelchairs, mobility aids and grab bars. Interior-environment guidance covers wall blocking and bracing, storage systems, counter bracing, flooring, tile slip ratings, indoor air quality, sustainable materials, energy and water conservation, comfort and acoustics. Building-system guidance covers smart-home controls, illumination and lighting controls, kitchen-island power, kitchen and bath ventilation calculations, and fire and life-safety locations.

Topics are not weights: Because the 24 headings carry no official scoring weights, you cannot responsibly prioritize by percentage. Any practice-question allocation you see, including on this site, is editorial rather than a statement of how the real exam is distributed. For a heading-by-heading treatment, see our CKBD exam domains guide.

Why the unglamorous topics matter

Candidates from design-heavy backgrounds often over-invest in aesthetics-adjacent areas and under-invest in the technical ones. Items like ventilation calculations, wall blocking for future grab bars, tile slip ratings and fire and life-safety locations are exactly the kind of content where a scenario can hinge on a specific requirement. A designer who has never had to specify blocking behind a shower wall may find that content less intuitive than layout work, even though it is squarely in the reference.

The Eight Portfolio Deliverables

The portfolio is submitted as PDFs reviewed against NKBA Graphic & Presentation Standards. The kitchen set consists of four deliverables: drawings, specifications, a design statement, and before and after photographs. The bath set has the same four. That makes eight PDF deliverables in total.

Kitchen Package

  • Kitchen drawings
  • Kitchen specifications
  • Kitchen design statement
  • Kitchen before and after photographs

Bath Package

  • Bath drawings
  • Bath specifications
  • Bath design statement
  • Bath before and after photographs

These eight items are submission requirements. They are not written-exam domains and they carry no published scoring weights, so do not confuse them with the 24 Fundamentals topics. The practical consequence is that your project selection matters before you ever open a drawing file: you need a real kitchen and a real bath where you were the designer of record, with documentation good enough to produce clean before-and-after photography and complete specifications.

Key Takeaway

Audit your project archive early. If you cannot produce before photographs, accurate drawings and a complete specification set for a project you led as designer of record, the portfolio becomes your bottleneck regardless of how well you score on Fundamentals.

What Is Not Publicly Confirmed

It is more useful to be explicit about the gaps than to paper over them. The following are not publicly verified for the current program:

  • The current Fundamentals question count and item format.
  • The split between scored and unscored items.
  • The numerical time limit.
  • The numerical passing cutoff.
  • Whether the exam is open-book, calculator-permitted, adaptive or live-proctored.
  • The pass rate, which is not publicly disclosed.
  • The renewal fee total.

Older specifications involving 100 or 200 questions and a four-hour limit circulate online, but they are not asserted for the current bundle. Our pages on the CKBD pass rate and exam dates track what can and cannot be stated responsibly.

Keeping the Credential Active

Certification is not a one-time event. Maintaining the designation requires 20 approved hours, equal to 2.0 CEUs, every two years. The total renewal fee is unverified, so check the current NKBA fee schedule rather than relying on an estimate. Build the continuing-education habit into your professional calendar from the start, since approved hours generally need to come from recognized sources.

Where the Credential Carries Weight

The CKBD is most relevant in the residential kitchen and bath trade: design-build firms, kitchen and bath showrooms, cabinetry dealers and manufacturers' design studios, remodeling companies and independent design practices. In those settings the designation signals that you have been tested on the planning standards and that a jury of peers has reviewed real work. It can help in client-facing sales conversations, where a recognized credential reduces perceived risk for homeowners making a large renovation decision.

We deliberately do not quote salary figures here, because credible numbers tied specifically to this credential are not part of the verified program facts. For qualitative discussion, see our CKBD salary guide, our CKBD jobs overview, and our analysis of whether the certification is worth it.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Real Structure

Rather than a generic schedule, order your preparation around the way this particular credential is built. Because the portfolio depends on documentation you may need to assemble or recreate, start it first, and let guideline study run alongside it.

Weeks 1-2

Eligibility and project selection

  • Confirm your route and gather documentary evidence and references.
  • Choose one real kitchen and one real bath where you were designer of record.
  • Inventory drawings, specifications and before/after photos for gaps.
Weeks 3-5

Layout and circulation topics

  • Work through Domains 1 to 6: egress, doorways, clear floor spaces and activity centers.
  • Redraw your own portfolio plans against these clearances as a self-audit.
Weeks 6-8

Fixtures, equipment and materials

  • Cover Domains 7 to 17, including cabinetry, finishes and storage.
  • Draft specification sheets while this content is fresh.
Weeks 9-10

Systems, code and accessibility

  • Cover Domains 18 to 24: air quality, electrical, lighting, code compliance, universal and sustainable design.
  • Pay extra attention to ventilation calculations and blocking and bracing.

For a fuller plan and resource list, see our CKBD study guide, the one-page cheat sheet, and the overview of CKBD training options. When you are ready to test your recall under scenario-style conditions, our practice test site offers questions organized around these same topic areas. Keep in mind that its question allocation is editorial rather than an official blueprint.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CKBD stand for in this context?

It stands for Certified Kitchen and Bath Designer, a credential awarded by the National Kitchen & Bath Association. It is unrelated to any other credential that happens to share the same acronym. See also our page on what CKBD is.

Do I have to pass both exams?

Yes. The credential requires the Fundamentals Exam and the separately juried Portfolio Exam, and you must pass both within one year. The one-year window is an administrative limit, not an exam timer.

Do I need to be an NKBA member?

Current membership is required for the $950 U.S. bundle, and no non-member exam tier is published. Membership dues are a separate cost, so budget for them in addition to the bundle price.

What happens if I fail a component?

One retake of each component is included. Later retakes cost $195 for Fundamentals and $295 to $395 for the Portfolio, with waiting periods of 14 days for the first Fundamentals retake and 30 days for the first Portfolio retake, then 30 days after that.

Is there a published passing score or pass rate?

No. The numerical cut scores are unverified and the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Plan to master the full planning-guidelines reference and produce a polished portfolio rather than aiming at a specific percentage.

Ready to pass your CKBD exam?

Put this into practice with free CKBD questions across every exam domain.