- The Short Answer: What a CKBD Is
- Who Issues the Credential
- Two Parts: Fundamentals and Portfolio
- What the Fundamentals Exam Draws On
- The Portfolio: Eight PDFs From a Real Project
- Who Qualifies to Sit
- Fees, Retakes and Reactivation
- Where CKBDs Work and Who Hires Them
- Keeping the Credential Active
- A Domain-Based Study Sequence
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CKBD stands for Certified Kitchen and Bath Designer, a credential issued by the National Kitchen & Bath Association (NKBA).
- Earning it requires passing both a Fundamentals Exam and a separately juried Portfolio Exam within one year.
- The U.S. bundle costs $950 and requires current NKBA membership; one retake of each part is included.
- Fundamentals tests applying the fifth-edition Kitchen & Bath Planning Guidelines, whose 24 topics are unweighted.
The Short Answer: What a CKBD Is
A CKBD is a Certified Kitchen and Bath Designer: a professional who has earned the National Kitchen & Bath Association's credential for designers who plan kitchens and bathrooms to published standards. The letters appear after a designer's name on business cards, proposals, websites and email signatures to signal that an industry body has reviewed both their technical knowledge and their actual project work.
What sets this credential apart from many others is that it is not a single test. It combines a knowledge exam with a juried review of real work. You demonstrate that you know the planning standards, and then you demonstrate that you have applied them on a project you designed. If you are looking for related explainers on the name itself, see What Does CKBD Stand For? and CKBD Meaning.
Who Issues the Credential
The CKBD program is run by the National Kitchen & Bath Association. The portfolio side is evaluated by NKBA-certified portfolio jurors, and no external testing vendor has been identified for the program. That matters for candidates because the people evaluating your drawings are practicing certified designers who understand the realities of residential planning, not a generic testing organization.
NKBA is also the publisher of the Kitchen & Bath Planning Guidelines, the reference at the center of the Fundamentals Exam. In other words, the body that defines the standards is the same body that certifies whether you can apply them. For a broader overview of how the certification fits together, the site's CKBD Certification page is a good companion, and What Is CKBD Certification? covers the same ground from a definitional angle.
Two Parts: Fundamentals and Portfolio
The current CKBD requires both of the following, and you must pass both within one year:
| Component | What it measures | What you submit or sit |
|---|---|---|
| Fundamentals Exam | Understanding and application of the NKBA Kitchen & Bath Planning Guidelines in scenarios | A knowledge exam tied to the fifth-edition guidelines |
| Portfolio Exam | Your ability to execute a complete project to NKBA Graphic & Presentation Standards | Eight PDF deliverables from a real project where you were designer of record |
The one-year window is an administrative access limit, not a countdown clock on a test. It is the period in which both pieces must be completed. Pacing matters, because the Portfolio requires assembling professional-quality drawings and documentation, which can take far longer than studying for a knowledge exam.
Details such as the current Fundamentals question count, item format, scored versus unscored split, time limit and numerical cut score have not been verified from public issuer sources, so this article does not state them. Older figures that circulate online for earlier versions of the program should not be assumed to apply to the current bundle. For what is known about scoring, see CKBD Passing Score 2026, and for difficulty perspective read How Hard Is the CKBD Exam?
What the Fundamentals Exam Draws On
The Fundamentals Exam is built around the fifth edition of the Kitchen & Bath Planning Guidelines, the reference explicitly tested by the exam. The public Topics Covered list for that reference contains 24 headings. These are reference-preparation topics, not officially weighted scored domains, and they are not an exhaustive exam blueprint. The largest scored domain has not been published, so anyone claiming a precise percentage breakdown is guessing.
The 24 topics, which this site uses as its study domains, are:
- Egress & Passageways
- Doorways & Hardware
- Clear Floor Spaces
- Primary Activity Centers
- Secondary Activity Centers
- Seating Areas for Dining
- Kitchen Fixtures & Fittings
- Kitchen Equipment
- Bathroom Fixture & Fittings
- Laundry Equipment
- Clothing Storage
- Home Offices & Gyms
- Outdoor Kitchens
- Outdoor Baths
- Cabinetry & Casework
- Finishes & Materials
- Functional Storage
- Indoor Air Quality
- Electrical Planning
- Lighting Planning
- Systems Coordination
- Code Compliance
- Universal Design
- Sustainable Design
For a deeper walk through each area, see CKBD Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 24 Content Areas.
Planning-space topics: the core of residential layout
Egress, Doorways, Clear Floor Spaces and Activity Centers (Domains 1-6)
These topics cover how people move through and use a kitchen or bath. The exam tests whether you can apply guideline logic to a scenario, not simply recall a dimension in isolation.
- Passageways and egress as they relate to circulation through the room
- Doorway and hardware choices that affect access and swing conflicts
- Clear floor spaces at fixtures and appliances
- How primary and secondary activity centers relate to one another
- Seating areas for dining, including how they interact with traffic
Fixtures, equipment and specialty spaces
Fixtures, Equipment and Extended Spaces (Domains 7-14)
This group extends planning from the core kitchen and bath into adjacent and specialty rooms.
- Kitchen fixtures and fittings, and kitchen equipment selection and placement
- Bathroom fixtures and fittings
- Laundry equipment and clothing storage
- Home offices and gyms
- Outdoor kitchens and outdoor baths
Interior environment, accessibility and building systems
The current public description of the fifth-edition reference also highlights several deeper technical areas. On the accessibility side it includes planning with wheelchairs, mobility aids and grab bars. On the interior-environment side it covers wall blocking and bracing, storage systems, counter bracing, flooring, tile slip ratings, indoor air quality, sustainable materials, energy and water conservation, comfort and acoustics. On the building-systems side it covers smart-home controls, illumination and lighting controls, kitchen-island power, kitchen and bath ventilation calculations, and fire and life-safety locations.
Systems, Codes and Inclusive Design (Domains 15-24)
These topics are where the exam rewards designers who understand what happens behind the finished surface.
- Cabinetry and casework, finishes and materials, functional storage
- Indoor air quality and ventilation calculations
- Electrical and lighting planning, including island power and controls
- Systems coordination across trades
- Code compliance and universal design
- Sustainable design, including energy and water conservation
The fifth edition is linked to the 2024 International Residential Code and CSA B652 Accessible Dwellings (2023), with comparison to the National Building Code of Canada. That makes code-awareness a real part of preparation: expect to reason about why a guideline exists in relation to code, not just memorize the numbers. A caution on currency: the public product page for the reference still carries older publication metadata, so it is not safe to treat it as proof of a fully dated exam revision.
Key Takeaway
Do not study the 24 topics as if they carry equal or known weights. They are an unweighted preparation list. Treat every domain as testable, and spend extra time on the ones that require judgment across trades (systems coordination, code compliance, universal design) rather than single-number recall.
The Portfolio: Eight PDFs From a Real Project
The Portfolio Exam requires a real kitchen and bath project completed by you as the designer of record. It is reviewed against NKBA Graphic & Presentation Standards. The submission consists of eight PDF deliverables:
- Kitchen: drawings, specifications, a design statement, and before/after photographs
- Bath: the same four deliverables for a bathroom
It is important to understand what these eight items are and are not. They are portfolio requirements, not written-exam domains and not scored weights. They should not be confused with the 24 Fundamentals topics. The jurors are evaluating whether your documentation communicates a buildable, standards-compliant design, so the quality of your drawings, the clarity of your specifications and the reasoning in your design statement all matter.
Who Qualifies to Sit
NKBA publishes three eligibility pathways. You need to meet one of them, and documentary evidence and references apply:
- An NCIDQ or architect credential, or
- 30 relevant academic credits plus 3 industry years, including 1 designer year, or
- 7 industry years, including 3 designer years.
The industry-experience route is effective June 1, 2026. Because eligibility depends on documented experience, start gathering employment history, project records and reference contacts before you pay for anything. The full breakdown, including how to document each route, is in CKBD Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Fees, Retakes and Reactivation
| Item | Published detail |
|---|---|
| U.S. bundle | $950, covering the Fundamentals and Portfolio exams |
| Membership | Current NKBA membership required; no non-member exam tier is published |
| Included retakes | One retake of each exam is included |
| Later Fundamentals retake | $195 |
| Later Portfolio retake | $295 to $395 |
| Retake waits | 14 days or 30 days for first retakes, then 30 days |
| Reactivation | $450, grants six months, subject to deadline and eligibility |
Two practical points stand out. First, membership is a prerequisite, so factor membership dues into your budget separately from the bundle. Second, the six-month reactivation period is an access limit, not an exam timer. If your one-year window lapses, reactivation can reopen access, but it is subject to your deadline and eligibility, so do not treat it as a routine safety net. For a full budget view, read CKBD Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Where CKBDs Work and Who Hires Them
Certified Kitchen and Bath Designers work wherever residential kitchens and baths are planned and sold. Typical employers and settings include:
- Kitchen and bath design-build and remodeling firms
- Cabinetry dealers and showrooms
- Home-center and big-box design departments
- Architecture and interior design practices with residential focus
- Independent design studios and self-employed consultants
In these settings the credential works as a trust signal. Clients entrust a designer with a large renovation budget and expect the layout to be safe, code-aware and functional. Employers use certification to screen candidates and, in some firms, to differentiate senior designers. The Portfolio component adds weight because it proves you can deliver a complete, standards-compliant project, not just answer questions. Explore the job angle in CKBD Jobs, and for compensation discussion see the CKBD Salary Guide. Whether the investment pays back for your situation is covered in Is the CKBD Certification Worth It?
Keeping the Credential Active
Certification is not permanent. Maintenance requires 20 approved hours, equal to 2.0 CEUs, every two years. The total renewal fee has not been verified from public sources, so confirm it with NKBA when you plan your renewal. Because maintenance relies on approved education, it is wise to log qualifying courses as you take them rather than hunting for documentation at the deadline.
A Domain-Based Study Sequence
Since the 24 topics are unweighted and the Portfolio runs in parallel, a sensible plan front-loads the spatial planning topics that your portfolio project will exercise, then moves into the systems and code material that is easiest to neglect. This is one example sequence, not an official schedule.
Planning geometry
- Egress, doorways, clear floor spaces and activity centers (Domains 1-6)
- Mark up your Portfolio project plans against these topics
Fixtures and extended rooms
- Kitchen and bath fixtures and equipment, laundry, clothing storage (Domains 7-11)
- Home offices, gyms and outdoor spaces (Domains 12-14)
Materials and building systems
- Cabinetry, finishes, storage, indoor air quality (Domains 15-18)
- Electrical, lighting and systems coordination (Domains 19-21)
Code, inclusion and sustainability
- Code compliance, universal design, sustainable design (Domains 22-24)
- Finalize Portfolio PDFs and rehearse mixed scenario questions
For a fuller plan, see the CKBD Study Guide 2026, and for quick last-week review use the CKBD Cheat Sheet. If you want structured practice questions organized by topic, the CKBD practice test site is built for that purpose. For additional learning resources, see CKBD Training.
Key Takeaway
The fastest way to prepare is to treat your Portfolio project as a study tool. Every guideline you learn should be checked against your own drawings. That turns abstract planning rules into concrete, remembered decisions.
Frequently Asked Questions
CKBD stands for Certified Kitchen and Bath Designer, a credential issued by the National Kitchen & Bath Association. See also What Is CKBD? for a broader introduction.
It is two components: the Fundamentals Exam and a separately juried Portfolio Exam. You must pass both within one year.
The U.S. bundle is $950, with current NKBA membership required and one retake of each exam included. Later retakes cost $195 for Fundamentals and $295 to $395 for the Portfolio.
No. The 24 topics are an unweighted preparation list, the largest scored domain is unpublished, and the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. See CKBD Pass Rate 2026 for what can responsibly be said.
Not necessarily. Eligibility can be met through an NCIDQ or architect credential, through 30 academic credits plus 3 industry years, or through 7 industry years including 3 as a designer, with documentation and references required.